About us

Books, music, works of art, films, photographs, documents, manuscripts and much, much more. The Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek (DDB – German Digital Library) makes it possible for all users to access the digitised cultural and scientific heritage of Germany. To this end, the DDB cooperates with hundreds of cultural and knowledge institutions – archives, libraries, museums, institutions for the preservation of historical monuments and research institutions – whose holdings and collections are made visible online by the DDB. In the meantime, millions of objects from all cultural sectors and all genres are researchable free of charge via the DDB’s search function.

Making cultural heritage accessible for education, research or simply for pleasure is one of the Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek’s objectives. A further objective is to link the digital offerings of the German cultural and knowledge institutions among one another and to thereby create a central digital location for cultural heritage.

How it all began: a brief excursion into the history of the Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek

The Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek is a joint project of the German Federal Government, the Federal States and municipal authorities, which promote and finance the DDB. It was decided to establish a German Digital Library as early as 2009 and this became a reality with an administrative and financial agreement.

The DDB is based in two locations: at the Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz (Prussian Cultural Heritage Foundation) in Berlin and the Deutsche Nationalbibliothek (German National Library) in Frankfurt am Main. The DDB’s branch office with the sectors finances, law, communication and marketing has been in Berlin since then, whereas the sectors of technology, development and the service centre are located in Frankfurt. In order to build up and expand the DDB, a competence network was founded from 13 cultural and knowledge institutions (15 today), which support the project and participate in various committees.

In 2012, the Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek started with its beta version and initially 5.6 million objects, respectively object references; this was followed by the launch of the full version in 2014. In 2018, the Federal Government and the Federal States decided to continue the project Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek on a permanent basis: since then, the DDB has grown consistently, has initiated and implemented many projects and today (as per May 2021) it can refer to more than 500 data-providing cultural institutions and more than 37 million objects. We have written down our history in detail here.

Our data partners: the cultural and knowledge institutions

How do the holdings and collections get into the DDB? The actual digitisation of the objects takes place in the museums, libraries, archives, institutions for the preservation of historical monuments and research institutions. The cultural and knowledge institutions, who are interested in this, register themselves with the DDB (see “Join us”) and are then guided through the data delivery process by the service centre in Frankfurt am Main and the respective sector-specific specialist department. You can find additional information on this on our portal for data partners DDBpro.

The DDB portals: the Archivportal and the Zeitungsportal

How can the DDB display archive and newspaper data better and make it searchable? The answer to this question is: by means of sub-portals with a sector-specific search and object display. The project “Archivportal-D”, funded by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG – German Research Foundation) already came into being in 2014 in this way, as well as the “Deutsches Zeitungsportal” (“German newspaper portal”) in 2021, likewise funded by the DFG.

In the Archivportal-D, located in the Landesarchiv Baden-Württemberg (State Archives of Baden-Wuerttemberg), the objects from archives are made accessible in a more specific and detailed way. In addition, there has been a theme portal on the Weimar Republic since 2020, in which archival material on this epoch can be researched.

The Zeitungsportal makes it possible to access historical newspapers with a full-text search, alternative search entries by publication date or newspaper title and a full-text viewer integrated into the portal, among other things. In this way, the portal makes the diverse historical newspaper landscape accessible centrally in a user-friendly way.

DDB offerings: virtual exhibitions and the cultural hackathon “Coding da Vinci”

Leafing through old manuscripts without endangering them, viewing ornate bindings from all sides as 3D objects or exploring images by zooming in – virtual exhibitions can make it possible to experience the holdings of libraries, museums and archives in a new way. In 2019, the DDB launched the service “DDBstudio”, which makes it possible for all of the cultural and knowledge institutions registered in the DDB to curate and present their own virtual exhibitions free of charge. More than one hundred exhibitions have been created in this way, highly diverse and exciting in their themes. Click here for the overview.

Open data: without these, the DDB would not have any offerings. But what can be done with open cultural data? The cultural hackathon “Coding da Vinci” started with this question in 2014 and invited cultural and knowledge institutions, together with hackers, to Berlin. Cooperations, projects and friendships emerged from this. Since 2019, “Coding da Vinci” has been funded by the Kulturstiftung des Bundes (German Federal Cultural Foundation) – a great success for the hackathon and the DDB as one of the four founding members. You can find all information on the Coding da Vinci website.

Europeana: European Cultural Heritage

The Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek is Germany’s contribution to Europeana, the European cultural portal. As the national aggregator, the DDB delivers bundles of metadata and objects from German cultural institutions to Europeana, so that these also become visible in a European context.

 

We report on the latest developments, projects, exhibitions and much more in our newsletter (subscribe now!), our journal and on our social media channels (FacebookTwitterInstagram).

Über uns

Bücher, Musik, Kunstwerke, Filme, Fotografien, Akten, Manuskripte und vieles vieles mehr: Die Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek (DDB) ermöglicht allen Nutzer*innen den Zugang zum digitalisierten kulturellen und wissenschaftlichen Erbe Deutschlands. Die DDB kooperiert hierzu mit Hunderten von Kultur- und Wissenseinrichtungen – Archive, Bibliotheken, Museen, Denkmalpflege- und Forschungsinstitutionen –, deren Bestände und Sammlungen die DDB online sichtbar macht. Mittlerweile sind Millionen von Objekten aus allen Kultursparten und allen Gattungen über die Suchfunktion der DDB kostenfrei recherchierbar.

Das kulturelle Erbe für Bildung, Forschung oder einfach zum Genuss zugänglich zu machen, ist das eine Ziel der Deutschen Digitalen Bibliothek. Ein weiteres Ziel ist es, die digitalen Angebote der deutschen Kultur- und Wissenseinrichtungen untereinander zu vernetzen und damit einen zentralen digitalen Ort für das kulturelle Erbe zu schaffen.

Wie alles begann: Ein kurzer Ausflug in die Geschichte der Deutschen Digitalen Bibliothek

Die Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek ist ein Gemeinschaftsprojekt von Bund, Ländern und Kommunen, die die DDB fördern und finanzieren. Bereits 2009 wird die Errichtung einer Deutschen Digitalen Bibliothek beschlossen und durch ein Verwaltungs- und Finanzabkommen in die Realität überführt.

Die DDB wird an zwei Standorten angesiedelt: bei der Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz in Berlin und bei der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek in Frankfurt am Main. In Berlin befindet sich seitdem die Geschäftsstelle der DDB mit den Bereichen Finanzen, Recht, Kommunikation und Marketing, während in Frankfurt die Bereiche Technik, Entwicklung und die Servicestelle angesiedelt sind. Um die DDB auf- und auszubauen, gründet sich ein Kompetenznetzwerk aus 13 Kultur- und Wissenseinrichtungen (heute 15), die das Projekt tragen und in unterschiedlichen Gremien mitwirken.

2012 startet die Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek mit ihrer Betaversion und anfänglich 5,6 Millionen Objekten bzw. Objektnachweisen, 2014 folgt der Launch der Vollversion. 2018 beschließen Bund und Länder, das Projekt Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek zu verstetigen: Seitdem ist die DDB beständig gewachsen, hat viele Projekte ins Leben gerufen und umgesetzt und kann heute (Stand Mai 2021) auf über 500 datenliefernde Kultureinrichtungen und über 37 Millionen Objekte verweisen. Ausführlich haben wir unsere Geschichte hier aufgeschrieben.

Unsere Datenpartner: Die Kultur- und Wissenseinrichtungen

Wie kommen die Bestände und Sammlungen in die DDB? Die Digitalisierung der Objekte findet in den Museen, Bibliotheken, Archiven, Denkmalpflege- und Forschungseinrichtungen selbst statt. Interessierte Kultur- und Wissenseinrichtungen registrieren sich bei der DDB (siehe „Mitmachen!“) und werden dann durch den Prozess der Datenlieferung von der Servicestelle in Frankfurt am Main und der jeweiligen spartenspezifischen Fachstelle begleitet. Weitergehende Informationen hierzu finden sich auf unserem Portal für Datenpartner DDBpro.

Portale der DDB: Das Archivportal und das Zeitungsportal

Wie kann die DDB Archiv- und Zeitungsdaten besser abbilden und durchsuchbar machen? Die Antwort auf diese Frage lautet: durch Sub-Portale mit spartenspezifischer Suche und Objektdarstellung. So entstand schon 2014 das von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) geförderte Projekt „Archivportal-D“ sowie 2021 das ebenfalls DFG-geförderte Projekt „Deutsches Zeitungsportal“.

Im Archivportal-D, angesiedelt am Landesarchiv Baden-Württemberg, werden die Objekte aus Archiven spezifischer und detaillierter zugänglich gemacht. Zusätzlich gibt es seit 2020 ein Themenportal zur Weimarer Republik, in dem Archivgut zu dieser Epoche recherchiert werden kann.

Das Zeitungsportal ermöglicht den Zugriff auf historische Zeitungen mit u.a. einer Volltextsuche, alternativen Sucheinstiegen nach Erscheinungsdatum oder Zeitungstitel und einem in das Portal integrierten Volltextviewer. So macht das Portal die vielfältige historische Zeitungslandschaft zentral und nutzer*innenfreundlich zugänglich.

Angebote der DDB: Virtuelle Ausstellungen und der Kultur-Hackathon „Coding da Vinci“

In alten Handschriften zu blättern, ohne sie zu gefährden, schmuckvolle Einbände von allen Seiten als 3-D-Objekt betrachten oder Bilddetails zoomend erforschen – virtuelle Ausstellungen können die Bestände von Bibliotheken, Museen und Archiven auf neue Weise erfahrbar machen. Mit „DDBstudio“ nimmt die DDB 2019 einen Service in Betrieb, der es allen bei der DDB registrierten Kultur- und Wissenseinrichtungen ermöglicht, eigene virtuelle Ausstellungen kostenfrei zu kuratieren und zu veröffentlichen. Über hundert Ausstellungen sind so mittlerweile entstanden, thematisch höchst vielfältig und spannend. Zur Übersicht geht es hier.

Offene Daten: Ohne sie gäbe es das Angebot der DDB nicht. Aber was kann mit offenen Kulturdaten alles gemacht werden? Mit dieser Frage startete der Kultur-Hackathon „Coding da Vinci“ 2014 und lud Kultur- und Wissenseinrichtungen ebenso wie „Hacker*innen“ gemeinsam nach Berlin. Es entstanden Kooperationen, Projekte und Freundschaften. Seit 2019 wird „Coding da Vinci“ von der Kulturstiftung des Bundes gefördert – ein toller Erfolg für den Hackathon und die DDB als eines von vier Gründungsmitgliedern. Alle Infos finden sich auf der Website von Coding da Vinci.

Europeana: Das europäische Kulturerbe

Die Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek ist Deutschlands Beitrag zur Europeana, dem europäischen Kulturportal. Als nationaler Aggregator liefert die DDB gebündelt Metadaten und Objekte aus deutschen Kultureinrichtungen an die Europeana, die so auch in einem europäischen Kontext sichtbar werden.

 

Über die neuesten Entwicklungen, Projekte, Ausstellungen u.v.m. berichten wir in unserem Newsletter (jetzt abonnieren!), in unserem Journal und auf unseren Social Media Kanälen (FacebookTwitterInstagram).