Terms of Use

Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek interlinks the digital offerings of cultural and scientific institutions in Germany and of German cultural and scientific institutions abroad. Through a common portal, it makes knowledge accessible – and does so while safeguarding copyright. It thus makes a significant contribution to the intermeshing of knowledge between disciplines and between users and the cultural and scientific institutions.

The digital content locatable in Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek is not stored centrally, but remains the responsibility and in the control of the various cultural and scientific institutions that cooperate with Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek. These institutions decide whether they are prepared to grant permissions regarding the copyright-protected content and which form such permissions should take.

Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek asks all institutions providing content as to their position on this matter and labels the accessible digital content accordingly with the appropriate license or appropriate information on the legal status. The licenses and legal-status information apply to the digital content at the participating institutions and, accordingly, also to the thumbnails shown on the Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek portal itself. The license information and legal-status information ensure legal certainty in the use of the digital content and thumbnails made accessible through Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek.

Apart from providing access to cultural and knowledge resources, Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek also ensures that you, the user, know what you may and may not do with the copyright-protected content which it has made accessible.

Further details on the scope of the licenses and legal-status information are available here.

Nutzungsbedingungen

Die Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek vernetzt die digitalen Angebote der Kultur- und Wissenschaftseinrichtungen in Deutschland und von deutschen Kultur- und Wissenschaftseinrichtungen im Ausland miteinander. Sie macht – unter Wahrung des Urheberrechts – Wissensbestände über ein gemeinsames Portal zugänglich und trägt damit entscheidend zur Verzahnung von Wissen bei.

Die in der Deutschen Digitalen Bibliothek auffindbaren digitalen Inhalte werden dabei nicht zentral gespeichert, sondern bleiben in der Verantwortung und Hoheit der mit der Deutschen Digitalen Bibliothek kooperierenden Kultur- und Wissenschaftseinrichtungen. Diese Einrichtungen entscheiden ob und in welchem Umfang sie Nutzungsbefugnisse an den urheberrechtlich geschützten Inhalten einräumen wollen.

Die Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek fragt diese Entscheidung bei den Inhalte beisteuernden Einrichtungen ab und kennzeichnet die zugänglich gemachten digitalen Inhalte mit einer passenden Lizenz bzw. einem Hinweis zum Rechtsstatus. Die Lizenzen bzw. Hinweise zum Rechtsstatus beziehen sich auf die digitalen Inhalte bei den mit der Deutschen Digitalen Bibliothek kooperierenden Einrichtungen und gelten entsprechend für die verkleinerte Darstellung in der Deutschen Digitalen Bibliothek selbst. Die Lizenzinformation bzw. Information zum Rechtsstatus geben Rechtssicherheit im Umgang mit den über die Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek zugänglich gemachten digitalen Inhalten.

Neben dem Zugang zu Kultur- und Wissensressourcen gewährleistet die Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek so, dass Sie als Nutzer wissen, was Sie mit den zugänglich gemachten urheberrechtlich geschützten Inhalten tun dürfen und was nicht.

Mehr Informationen über die Funktionsweise der Lizenzen und die unterschiedlichen Lizenzhinweise finden Sie hier.