Join Us

The Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek (DDB) is a cooperative project and exists due to the commitment of cultural and scientific institutions in Germany: Museums, libraries, archives, media libraries and other research institutions digitalise their collections, provide their data to the general public and thus make information and knowledge concerning cultural heritage available.

Why cultural and scientific institutions take part in the Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek

Cultural showcase for the world

Over 2,000 institutions have committed themselves to the idea of the German Digital Library and registered. The participating institutions establish the Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek as a cultural showcase for the world with their digitalised collections. As a result, they also contribute towards the democratisation of knowledge and resources.

Free and open access to cultural heritage in the Internet

The Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek makes the cultural heritage from German cultural institutions accessible for users in the Internet on a free, open and central basis. The collections of participating cultural institutions can also be published via the DDB’s application programming interface (API). With that said, the DDB’s data and methods can also be utilised by external applications (such as websites or mobile apps) and embedded into new contexts.

Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek cooperation project

Participating institutions also benefit from the professional exchange with many other institutions from all cultural sectors – in workshops, at conventions or in working groups on a national and international level. Many different institutions from all over Germany, supported by municipalities, federal states or the federal government, are partners of the Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek. The cultural map provides an up-to-date overview.

Europe

Cooperation partners also have the opportunity to provide their data to the European cultural portal known as Europeana  via the Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek.

DDBpro – the portal for Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek data partners

Institutions interested in taking part in the Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek can obtain information concerning registration, data delivery or legal framework conditions and also register via the DDBpro portal. The service point and departments of the German Digital Library provide continuous advice, from initial contact, to data clearing right up to the presentation of data at deutsche-digitale-bibliothek.de.

To DDBpro, the portal for Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek data partners

The Archivportal-D: Sector-specific access to the archival information of the Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek

The Archivportal-D, funded by the DFG (German Research Foundation), is being realised as a sub-project within the framework of the Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek. The Archivportal-D uses the database of the DDB; in this way the data are visible in both portals by a single delivery and are, on the one hand, cross-linked over sectors but, on the other hand, also presented in an archive-specific context.

More about the Archivportal | To the website of the Archivportal

The API of the Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek

The application programming interface (API) is a programming interface which makes access to the data of the Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek (DDB) possible via a number of methods. It allows the development of diverse applications which use the content held in the DDB and display this and embed it in different contexts according to your own wishes in each case. 

More on the API of the DDB

Mitmachen!

Die Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek ist ein kooperatives Projekt und lebt von dem Engagement der Kultur- und Wissenschaftseinrichtungen Deutschlands: Museen, Bibliotheken, Archive, Mediatheken und weitere Forschungseinrichtungen digitalisieren ihre Bestände, stellen ihre Daten  der Öffentlichkeit zur Verfügung und machen so Information und Wissen über kulturelles Erbe zugänglich.  

Warum sich Kultur- und Wissenschaftseinrichtungen an der Deutschen Digitalen Bibliothek beteiligen

Kulturelles Schaufenster für die Welt

Über 2000 Institutionen haben sich zu der Idee der Deutschen Digitalen Bibliothek bekannt und sich registriert. Die teilnehmenden Institutionen etablieren mit ihren digitalisierten Beständen die Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek als kulturelles Schaufenster für die Welt. Sie tragen damit auch zur Demokratisierung von Wissen und Ressourcen bei.

Kostenloser und freier Zugang  zum kulturellen Erbe im Internet

Die Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek macht für Benutzer das kulturelle Erbe aus deutschen Kulturinstitutionen kostenlos, frei und zentral im Internet zugänglich. Außerdem können die Bestände der teilnehmenden Kultureinrichtungen über das API (Application Programming Interface) der DDB veröffentlicht werden. Damit können die Daten und Methoden der Deutschen Digitalen Bibliothek von externen Anwendungen (wie Webseiten oder mobile Apps) verwendet und in neue Zusammenhänge eingebettet werden.  

Kooperationsprojekt Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek

Teilnehmende Einrichtungen profitieren auch vom fachlichen Austausch mit vielen anderen Institutionen aller Kultursparten – in Workshops, auf Fachkongressen oder in Arbeitsgruppen auf nationaler und auf internationaler Ebene. Viele verschiedene Institutionen aus ganz Deutschland, von Kommunen, Ländern oder dem Bund getragen,  sind Partner der Deutschen Digitalen Bibliothek – einen aktuellen Überblick verschafft die Kulturlandkarte.

Europa

Die Kooperationspartner haben außerdem die Möglichkeit, ihre Daten über die Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek dem europäischen Kulturportal Europeana  zur Verfügung zu stellen.

DDBpro – Das Portal für Datenpartner der Deutschen Digitalen Bibliothek

Institutionen, die sich für die Teilnahme an der Deutschen Digitalen Bibliothek interessieren, können sich über das Portal DDBpro über Registrierung, Datenlieferung oder rechtliche Rahmenbedingungen informieren und registrieren. Die Servicestelle und die Fachstellen der Deutschen Digitalen Bibliothek beraten kontinuierlich– vom Erstkontakt über das Datenclearing bis hin zur Präsentation der Daten auf  deutsche-digitale-bibliothek.de.

Mehr über DDBproZu DDBpro, dem Portal für Datenpartner der Deutschen Digitalen Bibliothek

Das Archivportal-D: Der spartenspezifische Zugang zu den archivischen Informationen der Deutschen Digitalen Bibliothek

Im Rahmen der Deutschen Digitalen Bibliothek wird als Teilprojekt das DFG-geförderte Archivportal-D realisiert. Das Archivportal-D nutzt die Datenbasis der DDB, somit sind die Daten mit einer Lieferung in beiden Portalen sichtbar und werden so einerseits spartenübergreifend vernetzt, andererseits aber auch archivspezifisch im Kontext präsentiert.

Mehr zum Archivportal | Zur Webseite des Archivportals

Das API der Deutschen Digitalen Bibliothek

Das Application Programming Interface (API) ist eine Programmierschnittstelle, die über eine Reihe von Methoden den Zugriff auf Daten der Deutschen Digitalen Bibliothek (DDB) ermöglicht. Sie erlaubt die Entwicklung vielfältiger Anwendungen, die die in der DDB vorgehaltenen Inhalte nutzen und sie jeweils nach den eigenen Wünschen darstellen und in unterschiedliche Kontexte einbetten. 

Mehr zum API der DDB