Exhibitions


Grimm from A to Z – What the Brothers Grimm didn’t tell us

Grimm from A to Z – What the Brothers Grimm didn’t tell us“Perhaps it was time to set down these tales in writing, for those who should be their custodians are steadily diminishing…” – this is how the “Children’s and Household Tales” of the Brothers Grimm from the German city of Hanau begin, perhaps the most famous collection of fairy tales in the world today. The original version of 1892 contained more than 200 texts. Today the “Children’s and Household tales” is one of the most widely-read books throughout the world and is part of the UNESCO’s Memory of the World Programme. However, the first edition was not exactly a bestseller when it was published: hundreds of unsold copies were destroyed. It wasn’t until Wilhelm Grimm decided to publish an illustrated popular edition, the “small edition”, that it became a success.

Read more...


The end of the world in postcard format: The Dresden Maya-Code – A virtual exhibition

The end of the world in postcard format: The Dresden Maya-Code – A virtual exhibition The Book Museum of the Sächsische Landes- und Universitätsbibliothek (SLUB) (Saxon State and University Library) started to present the Maya-Code as early as in 1786 – however, in the end it was the American film director Roland Emmerich and his film “2012” who would draw streams of visitors not only into cinemas but also into the treasure chamber of the SLUB in Dresden. On the occasion of the German-Mexican Cultural Year the Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek presents the virtual exhibition “Die Dresdner Maya-Handschrift: Prophetie und Ritual aus Yukatan” (“The Dresden Mayan Manuscript: Prophecy and Ritual from Yucatan”). The virtual exhibition, curated by Dr Thomas Haffner and Norman Köhler, illuminates history, content and significance of this for the Maya and today’s Mayan research very important document.

Read more...


From Letter of Privilege to Federal Constitutional Court – a virtual exhibition for Karlsruhe’s 300th birthday

From Letter of Privilege to Federal Constitutional Court – a virtual exhibition for Karlsruhe’s 300th birthdayThe exhibition curated by Meinrad Welker, which came into being together with the Karlsruhe Municipal Archives and FIZ Karlsruhe – Leibniz-Institute of Information Infrastructure, leads the visitor through the general history of the city and emphasises features in spheres such as planning and construction, migration and internationality, mobility and energy as well as culture and innovation. For today’s seat of the Federal Constitutional Court and Federal Court of Justice it was the progressive impulses during Karlsruhe's founding which were not only to be the central theme for the history of the city, but also for this virtual exhibition.

Read more...


The memory of dance

The memory of danceHow can we archive dance as an intangible manifestation of cultural heritage and preserve it for posterity? Due to the transient nature of this art form the issue of its storability has been exercising archivists for many years. Now, however, the digital age more than any other factor is enabling us to document the many facets of dance. This virtual exhibition sets out possibilities and problems - past and present - associated with the archiving of dance.

Read more...


On myths and monuments. The research expedition of Konrad Theodor Preuss through Colombia (1913-1919)

>On myths and monumentsKonrad Theodor Preuss is considered one of the greatest pioneers of modern ethnology. With his field research he was instrumental in enshrining innovative methods in his area of expertise. Exploratory research trips have now largely been supplanted by extended periods spent on location. Preuss was convinced that this approach was conducive to a better understanding of other cultures. Above all a good knowledge of local languages was key to grasping the world view of indigenous peoples. Using interpreters, he succeeded in building up textual collections of myths and songs in numerous locations in Latin America.

Read more...

Ausstellungen


Bahnriss?! Papier I Kultur

Bahnriss?! Papier I KulturAnlässlich des Welttages des Buches am 23. April 2017 wird die virtuelle Ausstellung „Bahnriss?! Papier I Kultur“ freigeschaltet, die auf einer 2016 in Leipzig gezeigten Sonderausstellung aufbaut. Die vom Deutschen Buch- und Schriftmuseum der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek in Leipzig in Kooperation mit der Deutschen Digitalen Bibliothek entstandene Ausstellung nimmt die wechselvolle Geschichte des Allerweltstoffes Papier in 17 Kapiteln unter die Lupe und spannt den Bogen von der Lumpenwirtschaft vorindustrieller Zeiten über das Sicherheitswasserzeichen und stillgelegte Zeitungsdruckpapierfabriken bis in die Gegenwart.

Zur Ausstellung...


Grimm von A bis Z – Was uns die Brüder Grimm nicht erzählten

Grimm von A bis Z – Was uns die Brüder Grimm nicht erzähltenEs war einmal … Schneewittchen, Rotkäppchen und Co. – wer kennt sie nicht? Mit ihren nunmehr 200 Jahre alten Kinder- und Hausmärchen haben sich die Brüder Grimm in die Kulturgeschichte eingeschrieben und Weltruhm erlangt. Doch das kulturelle Erbe der Brüder aus Hanau reicht noch viel weiter: Sie schufen wissenschaftliche Standardwerke, entwickelten mit ihrem Deutschen Wörterbuch die erste und umfangreichste Wortschatz-Sammlung der deutschen Sprache und engagierten sich im unruhigen Deutschland des 19. Jahrhunderts auch politisch. Die Brüder Grimm von A bis Z – die virtuelle Ausstellung lädt ein zu einer essayistischen Reise in das facettenreiche Werk und Wirken des ungewöhnlichen Brüderpaars, in dem Märchenwald, Wörterbuch und Nationalstaat miteinander verknüpft sind.

Zur Ausstellung...


Die Dresdner Maya-Handschrift: Prophetie und Ritual aus Yukatan

Die Dresdner Maya-Handschrift: Prophetie und Ritual aus YukatanIn der Schatzkammer der Sächsischen Landesbibliothek – Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek (SLUB) wird das Dokument aufbewahrt und ausgestellt, das 2012 für einen weltweiten Hype um den angeblich bevorstehenden Weltuntergang sorgte: die Dresdner Maya-Handschrift, genannt „Codex Dresdensis“. Dieses älteste erhaltene Buch der Maya-Indianer ist seit seiner Erwerbung im Jahre 1739 Gegenstand zahlreicher Forschungen und Interpretationen und Ziel unzähliger Touristen aus aller Welt. Noch immer bergen seine Geschichte, seine Schriftzeichen, seine Sprache, seine Zahlen und seine Bilder viele Geheimnisse. Diese virtuelle Ausstellung möchte Geschichte, Inhalt und Bedeutung dieses für die Kultur der Maya einzigartigen Schlüsseldokumentes beleuchten.

Zur Ausstellung...


Vom Privilegienbrief zum Bundesverfassungsgericht – Eine Virtuelle Ausstellung zum 300. Geburtstag der Stadt Karlsruhe

Vom Privilegienbrief zum Bundesverfassungsgericht – Eine Virtuelle Ausstellung zum 300. Geburtstag der Stadt KarlsruheDie von Meinrad Welker kuratierte Ausstellung, die zusammen mit dem Stadtarchiv Karlsruhe und FIZ Karlsruhe – Leibniz-Institut für Informationsinfrastruktur entstand, führt den Besucher durch die allgemeine Stadtgeschichte und setzt Schwerpunkte auf den Bereichen Planen und Bauen, Migration und Internationalität, Mobilität und Energie sowie Kultur und Innovation. Heute Sitz des Bundesverfassungsgerichts und des Bundesgerichtshofs waren es die fortschrittlichen Impulse bei Karlsruhes Gründung, die nicht nur für die Geschichte der Stadt den roten Faden spinnen sollten, sondern auch für diese virtuelle Ausstellung.

Zur Ausstellung...


Das Gedächtnis des Tanzes

Das Ged&achtnis des TanzesWie kann der Tanz als immaterielles Kulturerbe archiviert und der Nachwelt erhalten werden? Aufgrund der Flüchtigkeit dieser Kunstform stellt die Frage nach ihrer Archivierbarkeit schon seit jeher eine besondere Herausforderung dar. Vor allem aber das digitale Zeitalter ermöglicht es nun, die vielfältigen Facetten des Tanzes zu dokumentieren. Die virtuelle Ausstellung präsentiert Möglichkeiten und Probleme der Archivierbarkeit von Tanz gestern und heute.

Zur Ausstellung...


Zu Mythen und Monumenten. Die Forschungsreise von Konrad Theodor Preuss nach Kolumbien (1913-1919)

Zu Mythen und MonumentenKonrad Theodor Preuss zählt zu den großen Pionieren der modernen Ethnologie. Mit seinen Feldforschungen leistete er einen wichtigen Beitrag zur methodischen Erneuerung seines Fachs. Explorative Forschungsreisen werden nun weitgehend durch längere Aufenthalte an einem Ort abgelöst. Preuss war der Überzeugung, dass durch sie ein besseres Verständnis anderer Kulturen zu erreichen sei. Vor allem die Kenntnis der indigenen Sprachen ermögliche eine Annäherung an das Weltbild der indigenen Völker. Mit Hilfe von Dolmetschern gelang es ihm, an verschiedenen Orten Lateinamerikas umfangreiche Textsammlungen zu Mythen und Gesängen anzulegen.

Zur Ausstellung...